Try a Mediterranean Diet Day – No Matter What Diet You’re On

Every once in a while, I’ll be sharing my “New Year’s Resolutions for 2013” with you, even the bad ones.  Here’s the first in my New Year’s Resolution Series – Finding Balance.

To Diet is Noble, to Cheat, Divine.  A Happy New Year’s Resolution.

This is nothing against what I would consider my diet of choice should I be so bold as to use the ugly, four-letter word – actually this is more an homage to the Mediterranean lifestyle – the eclectic Euro-eastern sojourn kind of life.  Why shouldn’t you have nice things – think in abundance – and don’t skip the food (or drink) while you’re at it.  That’s one of my New Year’s Resolutions.

Ignoring the Voice in your Head

It all started out so well – a short list of to-dos including a work assignment and a kind of early start – okay 9:30.  I went downstairs and turned on the coffee pot – and went back upstairs to listen to a theta-wave wake-up meditation.  Quite honestly, I’ve been doing it for a week or so and it kind of does something to you.  I went downstairs and poured my personal-blend brew into a warmed cup and covered it with that Italian Cream that some famous non-dairy dairy makes – OMG delicious!  Eye-opening too – just the way I like it. (“Really?  Ya’ big fat cheater!”  “Mind your business.”)

But … I didn’t go back upstairs and power up the laptop to check email while watching this morning’s episodes of Supernatural.  Instead, I loaded the dishwasher and set it to go, but before I turned it on, I took a shower and then turned it on.  After that, I went upstairs, dried my hair, dressed, grabbed some laundry, put it in the washer – turned that on, emptied the dishwasher and finished the first cup of Joe.  It was now 11:00 AM and I had amazed myself – I was ready to go back to my room and work on my assignment.

Dedicate Yourself to Fun for a Day

Skip through the working for a bit, going to the tanning salon (very Mediterranean but something I don’t often do) and way-skip the two bites of sesame chicken I shared with a friend.  (“Seriously, LJ?” “I’m ignoring you today, Conscious.” “Cheater!”  “I’m not a diet cheater; I’m having a Mediterranean Diet Day.”  “Girl, there is nothing ‘diet’ about this day.”  “Not today!”)

Off to the Mediterranean Mall

My friend further coerced me into being bad by whisking me off to that big chain store that rhymes with Sarshall’s, you know the one.  Girlfriend – let me tell you – if you are going to cheat on your diet, you must go to this store.  Entering this place is like entering the high-end-of-cheating store.  It’s the Bergdorf of badass goodies you just don’t find every day.  “It’s my Mediterranean Mall.”  I mean if you’re going to cheat, don’t you deserve the best?  Yes, you do and so do I.

In full Mediterranean, savvy-shopper mode, because it’s my eating style of choice – feta cheese, couscous, fish, nuts, red wine, olives and … any various other luxuries of life – I quickly narrow my search to the checkout section.  The checkout aisle is a maze of goodies that makes you want to put down whatever you’ve carefully selected over your last two hours of intensive shopping – thrifty bargains, cheap, luxurious must-haves – and pick up all of your needs and wants in one aisle.  They have cute, cheap gifts, cards, wrappings and candy.  Candy, you say, as in chocolate?  Oh yes.

cashews

Oh Yeah!

Since they have the best-of stuff at ridiculous prices, you feel like you can splurge on one decadent, so-good-it’s-bad kind of treat.  My choice?  Cashew nuts covered in the darkest chocolate I have ever seen.  Nuts and dark chocolate – very Mediterranean diet – in moderation, of course.

Treating it like the treasure it was, I carefully put the unopened bag in my purse and hoped that at that one moment when I really wanted something delicious and decadent, which is usually around 10:00 PM, I would go in my purse and find it with the happy, astonished face that you put on at a surprise party you already knew about but had to act surprised about anyway.

Fast forward to home, where my other roommate, who really should have his own cooking show, whipped up some awesome shrimp, garlic and pasta dish – the garlic was crispy and it was heaven and since it was all done in olive oil – it was all very Mediterranean Diet-like.  Oh, did I mention the glass of red wine?  We could have had white wine, but I was feeling so Mediterranean vacation-like at that moment, that I didn’t want to go out to my car and get it out of my backseat.  (“Cheating and now laziness – you’re really taking this to the limit.”)  “Take it to the limit, one more time …,” I sing.  “What made you think of that song, asked my shopping mate.”  “Nothing really, just a little voice in my head.”

And now, I am relaxed, full, happy and ready to get back to work – yes, it’s almost 8:00 PM, but that’s the way I roll sometimes.  As long as I’m ahead of my deadlines, I try to take life as it comes.  And when at all possible, I enjoy the odd and off-days I get to spend with my friends, talking, tanning, eating, drinking, whatever.  Life really is short, you know.

A Diet Day to Remember

So I’ll promise to work a couple of hours more and put the project to bed, and myself as well.  Tomorrow is an early morning and a busy day.  But today will end with a little work done, a little time spent with friends, a little bit of delicious diet cheating, a little shopping (I did have to buy a birthday gift for a friend), enjoying a great meal and a glass of wine – and it will end with a cozy down comforter and a decadently delicious, very Mediterranean Diet-like chocolate-covered cashew – or two.

My 2013 New Year’s Resolution Series – Finding Balance

Leave a comment ...

