The 13th Zodiac Sign

When Myth Meets Mythology

Ophiuchus, “the serpent holder,” also known as the 13th sign, was the constellation in which Asclepius was placed by Zeus after Zeus killed him. Poetic as the ancient gods were, Zeus gave Asclepius his due even in death—after all, Asclepius was the half-mortal son on Apollo who was raised by Chiron, the wounded healer. He also gave birth to many children whose names we associate with good health and clean living. With all of its empathic and healing qualities, as told in the midst of this back story,  it’s a wonder that when astrologers divided up the sky into 12 even pie pieces and named them after constellations, they overlooked this particular constellation.  [Click here to read the full article.]*

*By clicking the link above, you’ll be going to my article’s home on CaliforniaPsychics.com’s blog.  Feel free to “like” it or “share” it or both – I appreciate your readership (and your interest in my quirky mind, if that applies:).

I’ve been freelancing for California Psychics for close to two years now, and this was the first time I was assigned an article that I actually dreaded writing about.  But through the wisdom of my editor, who said this was “the one” for me, I learned a lot about the backstory to this subject.  I guess it reignited my interest in mythology that I’ve loved since I was a kid, or perhaps it sparked the objectivity in me that every writer should have while researching and writing, or maybe it’s just my love of research (’cause I look hot when I’m wearing “readers”) but it did something to me – something good.  Of course the open-style title helped – I realized I wasn’t being asked to prove or dis-prove the existence of a 13th sign, just to talk about the phenomenon itself – how I approached it was up to me.  Thankfully I’ve never written about anything I didn’t really believe in and doubt I could.  The thing is that this is the first time I remember when writing for CP that I’ve used the word “I” in an article.  Instead of just being objective, I offered a piece of myself to it – my opinion.  I enjoyed writing this more than I expected to and that was a nice surprise, but more than that, I feel like I’ve just crossed a threshhold of some sort – a level deeper in my writing – and it’s all because of one little letter, I.

Oh, right – here’s a link to the rest of the article.  Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment ...

