Paranormal Marketing – It’s all a Diversion

I have to admit, I don’t have a marketing degree, yet I still wonder what or who determines what commercials appear during what shows.  I mean I would think if you had a product that you’d want your commercial to air during a program that your demographic target was likely to be watching.  Right?  So that leads me to wonder why  while I’m watching “My Ghost Story” on the Bio Channel, I would see an ad for ChristianMingle.com.  I don’t typically associate Born Again Christian with ghost hunting; it’s just not something I do.  Which also makes me wonder why I’ve been listening (and sometimes watching) a whole day of paranormal shows on the Bio Channel.  Aren’t there enough persons of interest who might be ghosts to have their biography shown on the Bio Channel.  I also watch paranormal shows on the Travel Channel, but that makes more sense to me since they do have to travel to find these haunted locations.

Actually, this is all one big mind-bend of a diversion from packing.  I’m moving – and dare I sound negative and say “Ug!”  I hung out with my brother and sister-in-law last night and we at Greek food and drank red wine and watched some videos – we had an excellent time, and at midnight I started my 40-minute trip home.  Of course I had to stop at the store since I planned on doing some errands and then being in my house for the rest of the day on packing duty.  I woke up at 8am – “Shit” – I have to get dressed, drink coffee and drive 20 miles to get rid of four – yes four, full, plastic leaf-outdoor-size bags of shredding.  I was mortified to go, but happy to be rid of it, compliments of the county.  I was tired and later than I wanted to be, but I got it done – long live the mail hoarder, holy crap.  Off to Lowes to pick up more packing bags which I’d ordered online.  I love it – it still involves human interaction, so I don’t feel like I’m putting anyone out of a job (like the supermarkets – “20-count bathroom tissue” – “Sshhh!  I don’t want everyone to know what I’m buying.”  “1 quart chocolate ice cream” = “Oh for crap’s sake!”).  Those automated lines creep me out.  So I dropped off the bags of mail and receipts and picked up more bags and headed home.

The more I get rid of, the better I feel.  That is until I get home and realize that there’s no more room in here now than there was when it was fully furnished.  My closets have puked their contents all over my living room floor and I want to cry.  I’ve moved 100 times in my lifetime, that’s probably only a slight exaggeration, and I don’t remember it ever being this hard, this daunting, and I so want to take this box of wooden matches I found at the back of my junk drawer and just torch the place, but they’re no good – too damp – just kidding.  Well I did try to light one and they were too damp but I wasn’t really going to torch the place.  See I’m a Cancer, a creature of home and if I could I take everything I own with me on every trip and move and visit I could, just in case I needed something.  Magazines I haven’t had time to read, the card I got from my cousin 6 years ago that’s just so cute, I couldn’t bear to part with it, it never ends.  But it’s exactly what got me in this sticky wicket.  After this move, I’m turning minimalist.

Whenever someone is upset because they lost something or someone took it away from them, I tell them all that matters is the memory of it, and all the rest is just “stuff.”  I, like so many advisors, would do well to heed my own advice.

Well, it’s time to end my diversion and get back to work – it’s times like this I wish I had a possie or some minions or something.  “Ug!”

Leave a comment ...

