Hey there. I don’t know you but, thanks!

Tweet

How many times has a total stranger changed your day or brightened your mood?  How many times has someone done their job perfectly and then resulted in a nicer experience for you?  We run into so many once-in-a-lifetime strangers, some of who can really have a profound effect on us.  How many encounters have you had with total strangers who made you think twice about something you were about to say or do – and then you changed your mind, and later you were glad for it.  Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to thank that person?  Wouldn’t it be nice to find them and let them know that they made a difference your life, whether it was for a moment or a lifetime – something shifted and you knew you’d never be the same without them.  This is for every stranger that I’ll never see again, who helped me over a hump or lifted me out of a slump.  To all those special people – good or bad, one and all – this is for you:

Hey there.  I don’t know you but, thanks! 

Thank you to the guy who pumped my gas when I was in Pennsylvania.  Because of you, I didn’t have to smell like gas, I didn’t break a nail and I didn’t even have to touch that nasty handle.  Also, it was nice to see that there are still gentlemen in this world.

Thank you to the sweet little five-year old boy who held the door for me at the store the other day.  You certainly have good manners.  Most of all, you made me smile.

Thanks to the lady who was screaming at her husband in the parking lot.  Now I know what not only the sender but the receiver feels like.  Thanks to you, I’ll never do that to someone I care about.

Thank you to the guys who wrote and produced that movie I just watched.  It made me laugh, cry and laugh again.  I really needed that.  Thanks.

Thank you to the deli man who cut my cold cuts just right – not too thin, not to thick.  My sandwich was lovely and I enjoyed it immensely.  I shared it with a friend, and I’m sure if they were here, they’d say thank you too.

Thanks to the anonymous reviewer on Amazon who stopped me from buying something I was sure I needed until I read your review.  You made some excellent points, and now I’m sure I would have bought it and suffered buyer’s remorse.  And how often do we both to return the things we don’t want?  You saved me from all of that drama.  Thanks.

Thanks to the human resources computer operator who spit out that form letter of rejection of my application, I’m sure that I wouldn’t have been happy working with anyone who relied on form letters to convey sentiment.

Thank you to the vineyard workers who plucked the grapes that made the wine I’m drinking right now.  Thank you to the masterminds at the vineyards that made the perfect wine that calmed me down after reading that letter (see above).

Thank you to all the people who freely share information on the internet; I’ve learned so much.  I’d like to thank the inventor of the internet as well, but sorry Al, I don’t think it was you.

Thank you to the writers of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Supernatural and the Big Bang Theory for allowing me to get lost in your intricate story lines and/or making me chuckle.

Thank you to everyone I‘ve never met who “likes” my blogs and my posts.  It always brightens up my day.

I’m sure I’ll think of more to add to this list – people I’ve temporarily forgotten, people I haven’t met yet.  But if you’d like to add to this list, feel free to leave a comment, so everyone can see and share.

Oh, and thank you in advance for sharing.

One thought on “Hey there. I don’t know you but, thanks!

Leave a comment ...

