About Love …

I’m writing an assigned article on love.  So far all I can come up with is that love is hard to describe.  Even what it isn’t is hard to describe.  I wanted to add the “Love is patient, love is kind …” quote from the bible, and write around it.  I wound up including it, but not writing around it.  Instead what I did go around was my apartment for hours trying to figure out if I was just having writer’s block or if my problem was that I really didn’t know what love was.  I thought I did, but now I’m not so sure.  If I really knew what love was, why was it so hard to describe.

Would I write about the joys of love, the pain of love, the poetry of love?  I could just go to sleep and finish it up tomorrow with a fresh perspective but I’m bothered by this.  Maybe I really don’t know what love is or maybe I’m so sure of what love entails with all it’s ups and downs, simplicities and complications, that finding words to describe it would forever allude me.

I looked in poetry books, books on love, and even searched online.  There were so many answers to the question, that there was really no answer at all.  It seemed that the explaination of love would be as allusive as love itself sometimes is.  While I continued my search for uplifting, heartwarming and inspirational words of love online, I found this poem by from 1958 written by British poet and painter, David Harkins.  It is obviously a poem about the sadness of the loss of someone, trying desperately to reach for the positive of having known someone so deeply, so truly.  It is obviously a poem of love.  I was so touched by this, I even went as far to think about how nice it would be to have someone say this at my own funeral one day … many, many, many years from now.  Does that make love also morbid?  I don’t know, I’m still working on that whole “what is love” thing, but clearly this poem is about love albeit the sadness of it – it is also a celebration of love lived, and I wanted to share it with you:

“You can shed tears that she is gone,

or you can smile because she has lived.

You can close your eyes and pray that she’ll come back,

or you can open your eyes and see all she’s left.

Your heart can be empty because you can’t see her,

or you can be full of the love you shared.

You can turn your back on tomorrow and live yesterday,

or you can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday.

You can remember her only that she is gone,

or you can cherish her memory and let it live on.

You can cry and close your mind,

be empty and turn your back.

Or you can do what she’d want:

smile, open your eyes, love and go on.”

As for my assignment, I will take his advice = smile, open my eyes, love and go on, because it is the only thing to do.  Wish me luck.

Leave a comment ...

